
      
       

    
        

         

        
  

       
       

       
       

      

        
   

 

           

             

            

    

NOTICE 

Memorandum decisions of this Court do not create legal precedent.  See Alaska 
Appellate Rule 214(d) and Paragraph 7 of the Guidelines for Publication of 
Court of Appeals Decisions (Court of Appeals Order No. 3).  Accordingly, this 
memorandum decision may not be cited as binding authority for any proposition 
of law. 

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF ALASKA 

LENARD  LOUIS  JOHNSON, 

Appellant, 

v. 

STATE  OF  ALASKA, 

Appellee. 

Court  of  Appeals  No.  A-11490 
Trial  Court  No.  3PA-11-3290  CR 

MEMORANDUM  OPINION 

No.  6580 —   February  7,  2018 

Appeal from the Superior Court, Third Judicial District, Palmer, 
Kari Kristiansen, Judge. 

Appearances: Callie Patton Kim, Assistant Public Defender, 
and Quinlan Steiner, Public Defender, Anchorage, for the 
Appellant. Diane L. Wendlandt, Assistant Attorney General, 
Office of Criminal Appeals, Anchorage, and Jahna Lindemuth, 
Attorney General, Juneau, for the Appellee. 

Before: Mannheimer, Chief Judge, Allard, Judge, and Suddock, 
Superior Court Judge.* 

Judge SUDDOCK. 

At the age of fifty-nine, Lenard Louis Johnson was convicted of eight 

counts of first-degree sexual abuse of a minor for sexually abusing his stepdaughter and 

* Sitting by assignment made pursuant to Article IV, Section 16 of the Alaska 

Constitution and Administrative Rule 24(d). 



            

  

          

             

              

           

            

               

              

     

            

             

            

    

          

              

             

             

            

              

    

            

              

             

         

step-granddaughter. Judge Kari Kristiansen sentenced Johnson to 60 years with 10 years 

suspended. 

On appeal,1 we affirmed Johnson’s conviction, but we remanded the case 

for reconsideration of his probation conditions in light of our recent decisions in Beasley 

v. State, Smith v. State, and Diorec v. State.2 We retained jurisdiction. 

Without convening a hearing to afford the parties an opportunity to be 

heard, Judge Kristiansen issued a supplemental order and an amended judgment. The 

parties were entitled to be heard in the superior court, and Johnson was entitled to be 

present during this hearing. But in his supplemental brief in his renewed appeal, Johnson 

does not contest this procedural irregularity. 

Johnson appeals, for a second time, six of his probation conditions. The 

State concedes, and we agree, that four of those conditions — requiring Johnson to 

submit to warrantless searches for firearms and ammunition and to pay restitution — 

should be vacated. 

We first address the judge’s imposition of a condition of probation 

requiring Johnson to submit to a search for firearms or ammunition. At sentencing, the 

State presented no evidence that Johnson had ever illegally used or possessed a deadly 

weapon. To justify the condition following our remand of the case, Judge Kristiansen 

noted that 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) prohibits Johnson, a convicted felon, from possessing 

firearms. But that fact standing alone does not justify a warrantless search of Johnson 

for such weapons.3 

1 Johnson v. State, 2016 WL 3220953 (Alaska App. June 8, 2016) (unpublished). 

2 Beasley v. State, 364 P.3d 1130 (Alaska App. 2015); Smith v. State, 349 P.3d 1087 

(Alaska App. 2015); and Diorec v. State, 295 P.3d 409 (Alaska App. 2013). 

3 See Dayton v. State, 120 P.3d 1073 (Alaska App. 2005). 
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In Boles v. State and Dayton v. State, this Court struck nearly identical 

provisions because the record did not indicate that the defendant in either case had used 

or possessed weapons, or that weapons played any role in either defendant’s crime.4 

Consistent with those decisions, we vacate special condition no. 1 requiring Johnson to 

submit to warrantless searches for firearms or ammunition. 

Special conditions nos. 2, 4, and 5 require Johnson to satisfy any court-

ordered restitution and forfeiture of property. But neither the original nor the amended 

judgment ordered Johnson to pay any restitution or to forfeit any property. The State 

concedes that these three conditions should be vacated because they are inapplicable to 

Johnson’s case. We agree. 

In his supplemental briefing, Johnson challenges two other special 

conditions of probation: that he participate in a thirty-six-week domestic violence 

intervention program, and that he take any medication prescribed as part of treatment 

programs ordered by his probation officer. Both of these probation conditions were 

included in the original judgment, and both conditions went unchallenged in Johnson’s 

initial appeal. Alaska law prohibits parties from dividing their claims among different 

appeals in the same lawsuit.5 Because Johnson could have challenged these conditions 

of probation during his initial appeal, but did not, he is barred from challenging them 

now in his appeal following remand. 

Johnson raises a separate issue that he did not address in his initial appeal, 

but that we address because of an intervening change in the law applicable to his case. 

In the original judgment, Judge Kristiansen imposed police training surcharges of $100 

for each of Johnson’s sixteen counts of sexual abuse of a minor. On remand, the judge 

4 Boles v. State, 210 P.3d 454, 455 (Alaska App. 2009); Dayton, 120 P.3d at 1076. 

5 Hurd v. State, 107 P.3d 314, 327-330 (Alaska App. 2005). 

– 3 – 6580
 



             

            

             

     

          

              

                

               

            

            

             

             

 

          

         

noted that she had erred in imposing sixteen surcharges, because various counts had been 

merged into only eight convictions. She accordingly amended the judgment to impose 

a police training surcharge on each of Johnson’s eight sexual abuse convictions, for a 

total surcharge of $800. 

After the initial briefing in Johnson’s appeal was completed, we decided 

Miller v. State, holding that only one police training surcharge could be imposed in any 

one criminal case.6 Johnson now seeks the benefit of our holding in Miller. Because his 

case was pending at the time of our decision in Miller, the Miller holding governs the 

imposition of surcharges in Johnson’s case.7 We accordingly direct the superior court 

to revise its judgment to impose only one police training surcharge of $100. 

Conclusion 

We VACATE special conditions of probation nos. 1, 2, 4, and 5. We 

REMAND the case to the superior court for reduction of the police training surcharge 

to $100. 

6 Miller v. State, 382 P.3d 1192, 1197 (Alaska App. 2016). 

7 See Charles v. State, 326 P.3d 978, 985 (Alaska 2014). 
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