In the Supreme Court of the State of Alaska

In the Matter of the 2021 Redistricting Cases

(Alaska Redistricting Board/Girdwood Plaintiffs/East Anchorage Plaintiffs)

Supreme Court No. S-18419

Order

Appellate Rule 216.5(h)

Date of Order: May 17, 2022

Trial Court Case No. 3AN-21-08869CI

The court has been advised that the superior court has issued its rulings following this court's March 25, 2022 remand. The court also has been advised by the Alaska Redistricting Board that it intends to seek our review on an expedited basis. For efficiency and expediency, **IT IS ORDERED**:

- 1. A file has been opened with the above-referenced case caption and supreme court case number. The necessity for payment of filing fees is **WAIVED**.
- 2. Petitions for review of the superior court's May 16, 2022 rulings are due by **Wednesday**, **March 18, 2022**, at 5:00 p.m. Responses to petitions are due by **Friday**, **March 20, 2022**, at 5:00 p.m.
- 3. Petitions and responses may not exceed 35 pages and shall be submitted in memorandum format. The pleadings must comply with Appellate Rule 513.5. Amicus curiae, if any, may file a memorandum not to exceed 20 pages.
- 4. Although Appellate Rule 210 normally does not apply to petitions for review, the parties must submit excerpts of record in accordance with Appellate Rule 210(c).

ITMO 2021 Redistricting Cases Supreme Court No. S-18419 Order of May 17, 2022 Page 2

- 5. Parties must submit all documents filed with the court electronically in PDF format to <u>pleadings@akcourts.gov.</u> In addition, six courtesy copies of petitions and responses should be delivered to the Appellate Clerk's Office on the Fourth Floor of the Boney Courthouse located at 303 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501.
- 6. The service requirements of Appellate Rule 216.5(k) are relaxed to allow filing and delivery of documents by electronic mail.
- 7. Justice Maassen and Justice Carney will not be participating in this matter.

Entered at the direction of an individual justice.

Clerk of the Appellate Courts

Ryan Montgomery-Sythe, Chief Deputy Clerk

cc: Supreme Court Justices
Judge Matthews
Trial Court Clerk - Anchorage

ITMO 2021 Redistricting Cases Supreme Court No. S-18419 Order of May 17, 2022 Page 3

Distribution:

Email: Singer, Matthew Baxter, Lee C. Wells, Holly C. Michaletz, Mara Falsey, William D. Danner, Zoe Angelica Stone, Stacey C. Stein, Gregory Flynn, Thomas Samuel Witty, Rachel L. Gardner, Eva Rivka Brena, Robin O. Gould, Laura Staser, Jake Amdur-Clark, Nathaniel Halley Leonard, Whitney Angell Orlansky, Susan C. Curtner, F. Richard