IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

)
In the Matter of the 2021	Supreme Court No. S-18419
Redistricting Cases)
(Alaska Redistricting Board/Girdwood) Trial Court Case No. 3AN-21-08869CI
Plaintiffs/East Anchorage Plaintiffs)	
)
)

GIRDWOOD PARTIES' CONDITIONAL NON-OPPOSITION TO ALASKA REDISTRICTING BOARD'S MOTION FOR STAY

Louis Theiss, Ken Waugh, and Jennifer Wingard ("Girdwood Parties") conditionally non-oppose the Alaska Redistricting Board's ("Board") Motion for Stay. The Girdwood Parties acknowledge that a stay of the superior court's order is appropriate to allow for orderly appellate review, provided the stay does not result in the use of an unconstitutional map in the upcoming election cycle. Their non-opposition is therefore conditioned on the assumption that the Court will decide the Board's Petition for Review with sufficient time for a constitutional redistricting plan to be put in place before the June 1, 2022 deadline for legislative candidate registration—an assumption that seems safe, in light of the extraordinarily expedited briefing schedule issued by the Court on May 17, 2022. However, if the Court has a deadline in mind for its decision, the Girdwood Parties request that it order the Board to proactively set a meeting date for no later than 24 hours after that deadline, to ensure that Board members are available to convene and act on the Court's guidance promptly if needed.

¹ AS 15.25.040(a)(1).

ASHBURN S MASONP.C. 1227 West 9TH AVENUE, SUITE 200 ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99501 ASHBURN & MASON, P.C. Attorneys for Louis Theiss, Ken Waugh, and Jennifer Wingard

DATED: May 18, 2022 By: s/Michael S. Schechter

Eva R. Gardner Alaska Bar No. 1305017 Michael S. Schechter Alaska Bar No. 1405044 Benjamin J. Farkash Alaska Bar No. 1911095

ASHBURN & MASON P.C. LAWYERS 1227 WEST 9TH AVENUE, SUITE 200 ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99501 TEL 907.276.4331 • FAX 907.277.8235

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

On May 18, 2022, a copy of the foregoing was served by e-mail on:

Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt Sonosky, Chambers, Sachse, Miller &

Matthew Singer Monkman, LLP

Lee BaxterNathaniel Amdur-ClarkKayla J. F. TannerWhitney A. Leonardmsinger@schwabe.comnathaniel@sonosky.netlbaxter@schwabe.comwhitney@sonosky.net

ktanner@schwabe.com jhuston@schwabe.com

Holmes Weddle & Barcott, PC St

Stacey Stone Gregory Stein

sstone@hwb-law.com gstein@hwb-law.com mmilliken@hwb-law.com

Brena, Bell & Walker, P.C.

Robin Brena Laura S. Gould Jake Staser Jack Wakeland

rbrena@brenalaw.com lgould@brenalaw.com jstaser@brenalaw.com mnardin@brenalaw.com mhodsdon@brenalaw.com jwakeland@brenalaw.com

American Civil Liberties Union of Alaska Foundation
Susan Orlansky
Richard Curtner
sorlansky@acluak.org
richcurtnerl3@gmail.com

ASHBURN & MASON By: s/Karina Chambers Karina Chambers State of Alaska, Department of Law

Thomas S. Flynn Rachel Witty

thomas.flynn@alaska.gov rachel.witty@alaska.gov

Birch Horton Bittner & Cherot

Holly Wells
Mara Michaletz.
William D. Falsey
Zoe Danner
hwells@bhb.com
mmichaletz@bhb.com
zdanner@bhb.com
tevans@bhb.com
pcrowe@bhb.com
tmarshall@bhb.com

GIRDWOOD PARTIES' CONDITIONAL NON-OPPOSITION TO MOTION FOR STAY ITMO: the 2021 Redistricting Cases; Supreme Court No. S-18419